Quickbooks Phishing Scam

6
Apr 2011

Quickbooks Phishing Scam

comment icon2 comment(s) |

You might have come across an email this morning appearing to be from tools@quickbooks.com telling you:

You will not be able to access your Intuit QuickBooks account without Intuit Security Tool (IST™) after 10th of April, 2011.

You can download Intuit Security Tool here.

After a successful download please run the setup for an automatic installation, then login to Intuit Quickbooks online to check that it is working properly.

Delete this email immediately and DO NOT CLICK THE LINK contained in this email.

This is one of the better phishing emails I have seen. The scammers used a legit looking email address, some authentic looking graphics, and actually used good grammar (which is better than 90%). There are two reasons you should immediately delete this email:

1.  Intuit and most software companies will not send you a link in an email you aren't expecting.

2.  If you mouse over the link (DO NOT CLICK THE LINK), you will notice it is not directing you to any Intuit site at all.

If both of those things are true, without even reading the email I would delete it. This is also a pretty big announcement on Intuit's part with very short notice. So the scammers are using some scare tactics thinking users will just go along with it. When in doubt, check the company’s website. Something like this should have some kind of announcement on their home page. If not, it’s never a bad idea to contact the company’s customer service or support and verify with them. Better to be safe than sorry. Take it from a guy who has had to remove countless viruses from his relatives’ home computers. You don't want to have to make another call to your computer savvy nephew.

Comments

October 31, 2011

Anonymous

Thank you for the heads up. I

Thank you for the heads up. I clicked on the link but immediately realized what it was so deleted the page it brought it up. My question is how long does it take for the virus to infect my computer? I am wondering if I deleted it quickly enough. I did not give it enough time to download anything - about 2-3 seconds.

Anonymous

February 8, 2012

Anonymous

tools@quickbooks.com scam

This morning I received an e-mail from the above in regards to updating my tax information promptly. This is what it says:

Dear Account Holder,

With intent to guarantee that precise information is being kept up on our systems, as well as to be able to give you better quality of service; INTUIT INC. has partaken in the Internal Revenue Service [IRS]

We have found out, that your name and/or Social Security Number of Employer Identification Number, that is indicated on your account is different from the information on file with the IRS.

in order for INTUIT INC> to update your account, please enter the secure section.

Best regards,
INTUIT INC.

Corporate Headquarters
2632 Marine Way
Mountain View, CA 94043

When you place your mouse over the underlined "enter the secure section" it reads this:
http:/craigcates.com/2WamR1E1/index.html

Search